Skip to content

Google Business Profile guide

Google Business Profile Management Cost in the UK: Real Prices and What You Get

An email lands offering to “manage your Google profile” for a monthly fee. A week later, someone else quotes several times that for what sounds like the same job. Both call it Google Business Profile management. Neither explains the price.

So what should Google Business Profile management cost in the UK? Start with the one fixed point: Google doesn’t charge for the listing, so every pound you pay buys someone’s time. This guide shows the prices UK providers actually publish, what each level should include, and which parts you’re better off doing yourself. If you’re weighing up wider SEO, our local SEO cost guide covers that.

The Short Answer: The Profile Is Free, the Time Isn’t

Google Business Profile is free to create and manage. Google’s own UK product page says “creating a Business Profile and listing your business on Google is free.”

Among UK providers that publish their prices, managing a single profile costs about £50 to £250 a month. Software-assisted services sit below that range, and packages that bundle in wider SEO sit above it. One-off jobs, like setup or fixing a suspension, are priced separately.

So what does the monthly fee actually buy? Someone’s time to keep the profile accurate, handle reviews, add content and spot problems. Not access to Google, and not a ranking. Google is blunt about this: “There’s no way to request or pay for a better local ranking on Google.”

That’s why a price on its own tells you very little. Two quotes can match to the pound and cover completely different work. The rest of this guide is about the scope behind the number.

What UK Providers Actually Charge for GBP Management

Most UK agencies don’t publish GBP management prices at all. You’ll mostly find “contact us for a tailored quote”. The few that do publish are spread across a wide range.

These are the published price lists we found. We’ve left the providers unnamed: the point is what the market charges, not who.

Prices as published by UK providers, September 2026

Provider What it covers Price per month VAT / minimum term
Provider A (software-assisted service) Keeping profile content current Around £20-£30 Not stated
Provider B (UK GBP specialist, three tiers) Entry: checks, review link, review replies. Middle: more replies, spam and fake review reporting. Top: rank tracking, posts, photo uploads, strategy call £50 / £90 / £230 per profile + VAT. 3 months (entry) or 6 months (middle, top)
Provider C (GBP management service) Weekly posts, photos, review management, spam fighting £150 Not stated
Provider D (modular GBP service) Core profile management. Add-ons: reputation (£150) and 10 posts (£99) £250 Not stated
Provider E (website and GBP bundle for trades) GBP management plus website hosting and upkeep £100, after a £250 start fee VAT not stated
Provider F (local SEO agency) Entry tier: GBP management plus on-page and local SEO and citations £200 + VAT
Local Magnet (us) GBP management within one plan that also covers SEO foundations and AI search visibility. Not sold on its own £500 (one city), £1,000 (multi-location) No VAT. 6-month commitment

Three things to check when you compare:

  • “+ VAT”. At 20%, it changes the real cost. The local SEO cost guide mentioned above covers this in more depth.
  • Minimum terms. They run from none stated to six months.
  • Per-profile pricing. Several locations usually means several fees. Provider B says so explicitly.

GBP-only work clusters at roughly £50 to £250 a month. Once a price includes work on your website, it’s a different product.

What Should Be Included at Each Price Level

Two providers can charge the same fee and deliver completely different months. One sends a couple of generic posts and an automated report. The other updates your services, uploads real job photos, replies to reviews and tracks where you rank. Same invoice, different service.

Here’s what the published tiers suggest each level should buy.

Under about £50 a month: maintenance

Should include: keeping your details accurate (opening hours including bank holidays, name, address and phone number, map pin, categories), a review link or QR code, a handful of review replies, and access to Google’s own performance reporting.

Don’t expect: fresh posts, new photos, rank tracking or competitor work.

About £90 to £150 a month: active management

Should include: everything above, plus work on your services list, more review replies, reporting fake reviews and competitor spam, ad-hoc updates when something changes, and regular posts.

Don’t expect: strategy calls or website work.

About £200 to £250 a month: full GBP management

Should include: local rank tracking, posts, photo and video uploads, periodic strategy reviews and reputation work. Even here, you usually supply the photos. One top-tier package simply asks you to send them in.

Above that: local SEO with GBP inside it

Now you’re buying a wider local SEO service. The last section below explains the difference.

Non-negotiables at any price

  • An audit before anyone changes anything.
  • Reporting that shows calls, website clicks and direction requests, not just views.
  • You keep ownership of the profile.

If a quote doesn’t list monthly deliverables in this kind of detail, ask for them before you sign.

One-Off Costs: Setup, Suspensions and Lost Access

A web designer who’s since vanished set the profile up years ago. Or it’s suspended and you can’t get back in. Either way, that’s a one-off job, not a monthly one.

UK providers publish separate prices for it:

  • Audit or refresh: £11 for an audit or £49 for a refresh (Provider A).
  • Setup or optimisation: £99 (Provider D), £195 to optimise or £225 for a new optimised profile, both + VAT (Provider B), or a £250 start fee within a bundle (Provider E).
  • Suspension appeal or duplicate removal: £295 + VAT each (Provider B).
  • Claiming access: from £200 (Provider B), or £50 an hour for verification, access and duplicate support (Provider D).

Nobody can guarantee that Google will reinstate a profile or remove a duplicate. Even the provider selling appeals says so. Our suspension guide explains what’s involved.

Some of these bills are self-inflicted. Google’s name rules say that “including unnecessary information in your business name isn’t permitted, and could result in the suspension of your Business Profile.”

If your profile only needs a one-time clean-up, pay for that. Then run it yourself.

What’s Worth Doing Yourself (and What Isn’t)

Several things Google says help local visibility are jobs only you can do well. You know your hours. You took the photos. You met the customer.

Do these yourself

  • Hours and special hours. Bank holidays, Christmas, the week you shut for a family wedding. Google says “businesses with complete and accurate info are more likely to show up in local search results.”
  • Photos of real jobs, your team and your vans. You’re on site. An agency isn’t, which is why even top-tier packages ask you to send photos in.
  • Asking for reviews. Every customer, genuinely, with no incentives. Our reviews guide covers how.
  • Replying to reviews. Google says it “shows that you value their feedback”, and you know what happened on the job.

Worth paying for

  • An initial audit and correct setup: categories, services and service areas. Our GBP optimisation guide walks through it if you’d rather try.
  • Monitoring for unwanted edits, duplicates and competitor spam. Your profile can change through suggestions from users and third parties, not just you.
  • Suspensions and access problems, as above.
  • Tracking calls, clicks and local rankings, tied back to real enquiries.

One site and a few spare minutes a week? Do the routine yourself and pay for a one-off setup. Several sites, a crowded market or no time at all? That’s when paid management earns its fee.

Red Flags That Cost More Than the Monthly Fee

The worst outcome isn’t overpaying by £50 a month. It’s losing your own profile, or getting it suspended.

1. They want to be the owner. Stay primary owner and give them manager access; Google says managers “can’t add or remove users or remove the profile”. After one agency took ownership and kept it, a Local Search Forum moderator’s advice was simple: “only have 1 primary owner per account and set everyone else as a manager.”

2. They promise a top-three map position. Some UK providers advertise keeping clients “in the top 3”. Google says there’s no way to pay for a better local ranking.

3. They want keywords in your business name. Turning, say, a Widnes plumber into “Emergency Plumber Widnes 24/7” breaks Google’s name guidelines and risks suspension.

4. Their review “system” uses discounts, freebies or only asks happy customers. Google bans both. Since 6 April 2025, fake reviews and concealed incentivised reviews are also banned under UK law (the Digital Markets, Competition and Consumers Act 2024; CMA guidance CMA208). Google is stricter than the law: it bans incentives even when disclosed.

5. They’re selling features Google has dropped. According to BrightLocal, Google retired the Q&A API on 3 November 2025 and replaced public Q&A with AI answers in Maps. Business Profile websites were switched off in 2024. A package still listing either is out of date.

Any one of these is a reason to walk away, whatever the price.

GBP Management or Local SEO: Which Are You Being Quoted For?

Why does one quote say £90 and another £500 for “Google Business Profile management”? Usually because they aren’t the same product.

GBP management works on the listing. Local SEO also works on your website, your service and town pages, your citations and your links. Google says local results are “mainly based on relevance, distance and popularity”, and the profile is only one part of how you earn those.

The table shows the split. Provider F’s £200 + VAT entry tier includes local SEO and citations. Our £500 plan covers GBP management, SEO foundations and AI search visibility together (here’s what our GBP work includes).

So ask every provider: does this price include local SEO outside the Business Profile?

If your profile is how most customers find you and your area isn’t crowded, GBP-only management (or DIY) may be enough. If competitors outrank you on the map and in normal results, you’re shopping for local SEO, and the local SEO cost guide is the better benchmark.

FAQ

Is Google Business Profile free in the UK?

Yes. Google charges nothing to create or manage a Business Profile. Anything you pay goes to a person or company for their time. You’re never paying Google for the listing, and never paying for a better position in the results.

Can I pay to rank higher on Google Maps?

No. Google says: “There’s no way to request or pay for a better local ranking on Google.” You can pay for Google Ads, which are labelled as ads, but that’s separate from your free listing and from any management fee. Be wary of any provider promising a guaranteed map position.

Do GBP management prices include VAT, and is there a minimum contract?

It varies. Some UK providers quote plus VAT; many don’t say either way. The minimum terms we found ranged from none stated to six months. Local Magnet charges no VAT and asks for a six-month commitment. Get both in writing before you sign. Our local SEO cost guide covers VAT and contract length in more depth.

Does managing several locations cost more?

Usually, yes, because each location is its own profile. At least one UK specialist prices per profile, and our multi-location plan is £1,000 a month against £500 for one city. Ask whether each location gets its own posts, photos and review work, or one template copied across all of them.

Not sure whether you need GBP management, local SEO or neither? Tell us what you do and where. We’ll give you a straight answer on whether we can help. If we can’t, we’ll say so.

Tell us what you do and where.

We look at what Google and the AI assistants say about your business today, and give you a straight answer on whether we can help.